[6/52] February 13, 2012

February 9, 2012

Dear Reader,

I’m switching to Mondays for posting, mostly because Fridays have been insanely busy, and then there’s the weekend in which I tune out everything, including writing.

Anyway, here we go. So what did I do the past week?

I finished Swamplandia, by Karen Russell, and had mixed reactions. On one hand, it’s very well written, and she has a gift for capturing moments and metaphors. She also understands what it is like to be a kid, and to have that viewpoint, and then change that viewpoint, either by force or gradual change.

On the other hand, it involved family secrets, and this isn’t the author’s fault, but I hate secrets. There were times when I thought the book became slow at points because it was just all buildup to what was most definitely going to be a train wreck, and I just wanted to get that over with. So minus that, it was a fairly good read, what with interesting facts about alligators, swamps, and wow-it’s-a-bigger-world-out-there epiphanies.

***

I also went to a rare and vintage beer tasting event with a friend the past weekend. I think we sampled at least 30 beers, mostly stouts and sours (we took a break in between and loaded up with protein and fried salty goodness). My friend hadn’t been to a beer tasting before, so I told her what I generally do at beer festivals, and realized that I either have been to too many beer festivals or am a beer festival pro.

So to help me remember, I’m listing my beer festival tips:
1. Go with someone. Stay with that person. You will need that person to slow you down.
2. Taste, not drink. First sips are fine, but remember finishing is optional, especially with ABV over 10% (the highest was 15%…whoo). Do not feel bad throwing out beer, if you want to try as many as possible. Drink the ones you like the best. Remember, throwing up beer is MUCH worse than throwing out beer.
3. Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate. Drink between sips.
4. Get food- preferably something fried, carb-y, and salty. It is also fine to take a break.
5. Do take notes. In addition, know what beers you want to try (essential in a bigger beer festival where there are 200+ beers.)
6. Have a designated driver. Always.

***

It was also a week in which I’ve gotten more angry and defensive than I have been in a while. So I’m going to vent a little.

Originally, I was going to say I hate driving, but that’s not really true. I don’t enjoy driving, but I don’t hate it. What I really hate are the bad drivers. They’re the kind who insist that you drive at their high speed, run red lights, make quick, dangerous turns, and generally get away with it. All for the sake of a SECOND.

I really got fed up when I stopped at a pedestrian crosswalk in front of an elementary school. The crossing guard wasn’t there, but there was obviously a pedestrian waiting to cross the street. On the other side, about 7-10 cars passed before one stopped so he could cross. Before he could do that, a van on the right corner of intersection made a right turn into my lane. So, basically, my stopping was useless and I should not have interrupted the flow of traffic, but here’s the thing. This is not a highway. This is a street in front of an elementary school. Traffic is interrupted all the time on local roads and moves at a slower pace.

Anyway, the point is, I felt alone and frustrated. Sometimes doing the right thing IS alone and frustrating.

***

And also, because February is a challenging month, Happy Pan-Universal Be Who You Are Day!
Remember, it is perfectly fine to love yourself, even if you do have someone special.

Here’s hoping for a better week,
-E.

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [6/52] February 13, 2012

  1. wade vidal says:

    every one is in a bigger hurry then i am, except the person at the stop light who is looking for something on the other seat and then i’m the one in a hurry.

Leave a Reply

