and some more green.

i’m pleased to show you my first FO of this year, titled RB hat. It was inspired by Romanesco broccoli and while I couldn’t duplicate the fractals, I tried my best to mimic the overall effect.

RB hat

bumps galore

What better day to be Irish...(77/365)
there might have been a little celebrating when it was finally done. I had to rip and restart the hat a few times because I kept skipping stitches — it’s one of those projects where you have to count almost every row.

RB hat project specs:
Yarn: Malabrigo worsted, saphire green (notoriously difficult to capture)
Needles: US No. 6 and 8
Pattern: my own, which is why it took a while. Will write it out at some point 🙂
Notes: This hat isn’t blocked yet and I’m a little worried about the not-so-obvious-but-still-existing holes between the bumps, but Malabrigo felts a little and the bumps create their own, well, warm air aura, I suppose, so I can safely say it is a most excellent and warm hat.

*pats self on back*

This entry was posted in fiber arts, knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to and some more green.

  1. Aileen says:

    Wow thats a great job. I like your pattern and it looks great on you 🙂

  2. fawn pea says:

    wow, great work eunice! i love the broccoli bumps, and malabrigo… all i can say is yummy. what an awesome hat for early spring days!

  3. J says:

    I am in awe. the hat is wonderful, but what sparks awe is a mind that comes up with an idea to make a hat that looks like broccoli. you, my dear, are one of a kind! 🙂

    it is a wonderful color for a spring hat. still cold and need a hat, but a new lovely green , broccoli bumped hat- that says spring!

Leave a Reply

