back again.

an invitation

The room hasn’t been open in a while, judging from the creaky locks. The girl enters and finds the windows dimly lighting the space. Sunshine begs to be let in, to fill every nook and cranny, and to expose a thick layer of dust. She blows on a surface of a wooden, well-worn table, watching the particles glisten in the light, and notices the sudden, subtle movement of strings, carefully wound and stored. They remind her of tail wags, of a dog waiting faithfully for her master to come home.

***

It has been a while, hasn’t it? I’m not sure what happened– part of me wishes I could say I just fell into a rabbit hole and couldn’t stop by for tea. Part of me wants to tell the truth, that for a long time I really had no idea what the purpose of my blog was, if it even needed a purpose, and that I had defected more or less to flickr (thanks to the 365 project).

And it was so easy to just let a picture say a thousand words by itself.

Except I actually miss writing the words, selecting them with care, rolling them over on my tongue. I got a little encouragement from a post by Megan. and a dear friend that I miss terribly, so I’m going to try again.

What have I been doing? I’ve failed and succeeded at making jam, eaten so many homegrown tomatoes and tomatillos I swear they’re going to come out of my ears, fostered a puppy, got the kitchen painted and done, knitted a pair of socks and two hats in record time.

Whew. So what’s next? Well, I’m beginning to wish I hadn’t opened my umbrella, because now every hurricane in the Atlantic seems to be rising towards my area. Ooops. So while I anxiously look out my window, I’ll be embarking on a two-week craft-only sabbatical in which I finally make time out of my crazy schedule. Like finishing that current weaving project. Making a dent in my colorful but about to burst-at-seams spinning stash. And just maybe, maybe, seeing if I can enter things in the local state fair, just for fun.

Right now, though, I am just enjoying the cool night breeze and the cheshire cat grin of a moon and a most delicious strawberry tea. And I hope whereever you are, that you are doing the same.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to back again.

  1. marthasnail says:

    yay! glad you are writing again. do keep us posted about the state fair! miss you too e.

  2. Aileen says:

    Hey glad your back. I haven’t had the chance to pick up a pen to write to you, things have been busy with the baby. I have been watching your blogs for updates and was wondering for some time now where you had disappeared to. I will send a update by mail soon.

Leave a Reply

