April 17: Song

/~I loved her when she was/ A tree and I saw her from/ A distance:~/ (107/365.2)

Song

I loved her when she was
A tree and I saw her from
A distance; I loved her

As she came closer and I sat
Near and loved the shadow.
I loved her as the air

Shook her and the rain fell
Upon her as we walked home.
And I loved her most when

She stayed and fell asleep
And I traced those shoulders.
We slept and woke and loved.

I loved her for her lightness
And the sun that played upon
Her voice and eyes at once.

–Kevin McGrath

This entry was posted in photography, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

