[1/52]: 7 January 2011

December 23, 2010

Dear Reader,

I am going to do something either utterly stupid or good for me: a resolution to blog weekly. Yes, 52 blog posts. I mean, I’ve done 365 self-portraits (twice!) and a year in pictures (now thrice!). I also have an ongoing 52 weeks project. So why not 52 blog posts? I’ve been wanting to write more, but haven’t found a format that I feel comfortable with.

Enter The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (and a little bit of 84 Charing Cross Road, by Helen Hanff, which I’ve seen but not read). It’s written in form of letters, and I love writing (and reading) letters. I’m not comfortable with posting random minutiae (too detached) or journal posts (too private) and I’m looking for a balance between both, and this seems to fit the bill. Besides, some of my favorite blogs feel like letters to me, anyway.

And while we’re on the subject of resolutions, I’m also going to read 52 books that I already own this year. The number of books that have went unread is uhm, staggeringly high. Any moment the dusty wrath of unread books will seek me out and I should take immediate preventative measures. I’ll see about making a list of those books. Oh, and T. G. L. A. P. P. S. (see above) is the first book on that list. So far, so good.

If you think I’m a little late to the resolutions game, you’re right. I might spend the entire month of January getting used to the idea of a new year. I actually have no big expectations for the new year, which sounds depressing, but given the double whammys of last year, it’s not too surprising. I haven’t felt excited or worked up about something for a long while, and this winter is making me feel rather dormant like one of those spring bulbs. Good thing that winter is very short here where I live. ๐Ÿ™‚

In the meantime, I’m going to remind myself of something that I tell everyone, which is time heals all. So I’m just going to give it time, and find joy in whatever comes my way.

Like accidentally biking 47 miles in the first day of the new year. And then coming home to cook a traditional New Year’s dinner afterwards. Finishing a 1000 piece folk art puzzle. Going to our usual Sunday brunch and doing crosswords. Seeing the dogs and walking them. And so on.

What about you? How’s your year been and what are you looking forward to in the new year?

Til next week,
Eunice

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to [1/52]: 7 January 2011

  1. marthasnail says:

    i like this format, eunice! looking forward to reading regularly. i like your 52 books project. i could probably follow suit.

  2. wade vidal says:

    I hope that this works for you , I enjoy and look forward to your post.

  3. carolyn says:

    Dear Eunice,
    How does one ACCIDENTALLY bike ride 47 miles? Is that an accident like whoops I fell off the ladder? OH MY however DID that happen?!?! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Sincerely,
    next week can’t come fast enough,
    Reader

Leave a Reply

