[2/52]: 14 January 2011

January 13, 2011

Dear Reader,

I’m so glad you like this format as much as I do. To answer a question… we biked 47 miles “accidentally” because we got lost (twice, actually). Apparently there is a sign at an intersection in which three out of four streets are labelled the same. So that just added an extra 10 miles.

If I had to pick a soundtrack for this week, it’d be “ice, ice, baby.” (Never mind that I’ve never heard, or read the lyrics for this song). Monday started off anxiously waiting for 8-10 inches of snow that family from Chattanooga warned us about. It never came, even though the clouds looked thick. We did have some flurries but they were mixed in with freezing ice. The next day was freezing drizzle, which is basically frozen mist. Is it bad that my favorite part of winter storms is the morning after, when all is quiet and smooth, and all you see are birds trying to find food? Everything else is just pure irritation: car drivers who drive too fast over thick blocks of ice, walking the dog on top of ice, trying not to slip on the said ice. It was bad enough for us to stay home for nearly three full days.

Though I have to say that the storm did make my decluttering plans rather productive. I got rid of old food in the kitchen, a lot of magazines, scraps of paper here and there. We also rearranged furniture and framed and hung up pictures, so the house looks a little different but still cozy. I call it the cheaper alternative to moving into a new house. My partner calls it getting rid of dustbunnies. Either way works.

It is mid-January, and it is that time of year where we start getting winter-weary, though it never gets as old as it does in Februrary. I have been reading winter morning ritual tips, and I have to admit that I have a hard time getting up early these mornings. Most of it is because I’ve stayed up too late watching Mad Men (so clever! so fantastically… uhmm, what’s the word that sums up “grabbing life by the balls”) or just stayed up too late, period. A few years ago, my partner bribed me to get up early by buying me yarn; I think I may have to resort to a similar bribe, but I’m trying to think of something that does not involve stash enhancement of any kind (yarn, fiber, fabric, book). Maybe I’ll call it the LeCreuset fund. Or Agricola (the board game) fund. I also should go back to dressing quickly the moment I get up, to get myself warm, making myself citron tea, and just looking outside while reading The Writer’s Almanac.

But soon, I will be crossing off one thing from winter to-do list, which is to get the hell out of dodge. It’s sort of like Restaurant Christmas, except we don’t run a restaurant. We just need a break from winter, from the stresses of the holidays, from the crazy amount of holiday traveling, and we need time to be just us. At some point I’d love to go to Southern Hemisphere again- one of the best trips we had in the winter was New Zealand- it was so blissfully sunny and warm there. The first thing we ate there was a bowl of cherries and they were so so good. To this day, we ask ourselves why we ever came back…

Anyway, we’ll be going to Asheville instead, to the spa. It may sound a bit frou-frou, except this spa is special. They have many different kinds of pools, and an outdoor heated pool that is more like an outdoor bath, facing an awesome view of Blue Ridge Mountains. I remember being in that heated pool last year, watching snowflakes gently floating on your faces, and floating on my back in the mineral pool, watching my reflection and the full moon in the glass ceiling. It is a little magical, I must admit. I’m also looking forward to the eating and drinking scene (I think Asheville stole some sort of beer crown from Portland- for most microbreweries in a town?) and possibly indulge in some retail therapy. I’ll tell you more about it when I come back.

Til then, have a wonderful weekend, all.

Love,
Eunice

P.S. If you live in the Triangle, Mandy Powers of Zigzagstitch is going to be at Cozy in this Sunday. More details here.

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [2/52]: 14 January 2011

  1. marthasnail says:

    i’m loving these letters, eunice. the asheville spa experience sounds wonderful. we’re hoping to go to asheville this spring for T’s bday. citron tea? agricola? intrigued!

  2. carolyn says:

    Dear Eunice,
    SNOW!! 🙂 Poor Cori does not look to be enjoying it! 🙂 Asheville sounds like a dream to me!!! Maybe it needs to be a “We go back to New Zealand again” fund!!!
    sincerely,
    I wanna float in a mineral pool,
    Duff

  3. Barbara says:

    Your last paragraph made me miss BC so much. The area where I grew up has several hot springs within a few hours drive. There really is nothing like sitting quietly in the hot water after dusk, watching the snow fall on the trees.

  4. thruhike98 says:

    Have a great trip. It sounds wonderful.

Leave a Reply

