[4/52]: 28 January 2011

January 20, 2011

Dear Reader,

How are you? I hope your week was okay despite all the snow and/or illness. Mine was fairly unremarkable, except for making a long list of things that need to be replaced. Some things, like HVAC, do need to be replaced (nearing 15 years), and some things, like my alarm clock (only 2 years old) are just crappily made. It makes me wish for days when quality was more important than quantity, but then again, nothing lasts forever and well, money has to go around and around.

It’s just that I wish technology could be worked in a way that was sustainable and profitable, but judging from the new devices that come out every year, it never works out that way. It sure would be nice if your phone could be something like a vintage tweed jacket, holding its shape and still filled with usefulness. Ah, well.

I’m looking forward to this weekend, though. I’m making myself go to mitten school, which counts as “working on a project” as a winter survival strategy. It’s more like a mitten retreat, though. I’m having such a hard time getting my knitting mojo back, and I’ve been staring at my craft stash amidst a decluttering phase, and wondering when I would ever get to the projects I wanted to do. Part of the problem is that I’m very easily distracted at home with housework and internet (this post is story of my life- internet forever!) and while I’ve been good at shutting down internet, it’s been a challenge to just drop everything and knit at home. I always feel like I should be doing something more productive, and as knitting is very slow, it doesn’t always offer that satisfaction. So I’m starting small, with a pair of fair isle mittens. Fair isle is mesmerizing, and I always like watching the pattern emerge, and mittens are fairly doable for a weekend. Also, it’s National Knit Mittens Month.

So my fridge is full, the house has already been cleaned, laundry is done, and the boy has promised not to bug me too much. The dog will be walked, but I’d have to go out and get some exercise anyway. We’ll see how the weekend goes, and if all goes well, I may just take one weekend a month to just drop everything and work on various projects.

I’ll let you know how it goes, and til then, stay warm and safe.

Love,
Eunice

P.S. I’m still reading the same books I started last week. Two things about Dorothy Whipple and Persephone Books: 1) I now want to read everything she wrote, and 2) Persephone Books are gorgeous and will make everyone ask you what it is that you’re reading (two people asked me in one day about the book when I took it out and about).

This entry was posted in knitting, life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [4/52]: 28 January 2011

  1. wade vidal says:

    knitting is good for your soul, which is why you have such a good soul.

Leave a Reply

