[11/52] 18 March 2011

breaking light

Dear Reader,

Last week I was at a loss for words watching the Japan earthquake crisis unfold, and truthfully, I’ve been glued to the news all week. It feels like a Greek tragedy that I can’t stop watching. Yes, I do know that there is a way to help out with Japan earthquake crisis, and that is to send money to the disaster relief organization of your choice, and if you can, I encourage you to do so. It’s just that the news raise more questions than answers, and sometimes it feels like a slow waiting game.

But anyway, even though it feels weird, life goes on. And here’s a good perspective. And here’s a report from someone living in Japan, saying, please don’t worry so much.

So I am going to go on with silly news about me. I think it’s pretty silly in that they are not really that significant, but they are small changes in my life that make me happy.

1. New haircut. I asked for a shorter trim than usual and even though I now look like about 50% of Asian schoolgirls, I like it. I was getting tired of looking like 90% of Asian ninjas (don’t ask me why, but apparently if you know martial arts, you have to have uneven, unkempt long hair that blows out in all directions as you get ready to do your {insert your variety}-fu.)

2. New glasses. I got new frames (I wore my old ones for six years. Six years!) and uhmm, people noticed my haircut more than my glasses, so this was not so much of a change. They are kinda the same size, just a little bit more pointy at corners, but not much. The biggest change were the lens- they auto-shade every time I am in the sun, and I love this photochromatic effect. It’s nice not to squint in the sun and feel blinded and fiddle with detached sunglasses or lose them.

3. I did get iPad2 (and spent most of the time on it reading about Japan!). Mr. Yum and I have more or less solved our e-book problem by keeping track of our e-book purchases and donating that amount to buy books for students who need them for summer reading. That way, we still get to support our local bookstore. I have to say that I do not have any problems reading on the iPad, in whatever format (Kindle, iBook, Google Book) and have fell asleep reading the ebook at night. I always have this habit of reading myself to sleep and I was worried it wouldn’t work with an iPad. Apparently the reading experience is pretty much the same. (If you’re curious, I read the first sample chapter of Tea Olbreht’s the Tiger Wife and am now reading The World without Us by Alan Weisman). We’ve also been playing Carcassone and Osmos on it and they are both beautiful games. Basically, if you think you are going to like iPad, you will.

And then there’s a list of things that have interested me lately:

1- Downton Abbey. I finally got to watch it and it is fantastic. It’s like Gosford Park meets Battlestar Galatica. Well, it’s like Gosford Park II, but with BSG endings/cliffhangers. Apparently it is now an official rule of TV that shows should end on a cliffhanger if you are ever to succeed in show business.

2- A world without privacy. I read about this and I was intrigued. I don’t think I could live in a world like that because I don’t want to live my whole life examined that carefully, but I can understand the conveniences. A few of the data collection ideas sound a lot like marketing/advertising techniques, though, so maybe we DO live in that kind of world, but under the pretense that we actually do have a choice.

Anyway, that’s about it for now. I still haven’t forgotten about a garden post- I’m still working on it.

Til next week,
Eunice

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [11/52] 18 March 2011

  1. wade vidal says:

    dear E yes we are small and in the grand scheme of things unimportant , but it is just our small gestures which cause the ripple in the pond which reaches the other side. Your words touch me and cause me to speak to others that I might not have and they to others about life and loss. We read and seek and reach out because some one reached out to us. Keep writing I’ll keep reading.

  2. carolyn says:

    Dear Eunice,
    OK that is the first description of Downton Abbey that is making me want to watch it. Of course it’ll have to wait in line as I have just started an(other epic) rewatch of BSG…
    Your new haircut is super cute! (I saw it on Flickr, of course.)
    And I have yet to play Carcassone on my iphone (I can’t convince myself to buy a $9 game) but I have been playing the board game version and it’s so fun!!!
    ‘Til next week,
    Reader (Duff)

Leave a Reply

