[14/52] 8 April 2011

April 8, 2011

Dear Reader,

Hello, you. How was your week? The biggest thing this week has been my allergies, which is fine by me. Nothing needs to be more drastic than that. ๐Ÿ™‚

Or alternatively, I could say that I’ve been feeling a little like Rapunzel cooped up during the day because the dragons called Elm Pollen and Oak Pollen (they’re sort of brothers, you could say. fraternal, maybe) are lurking about and I am waiting for the white knight called Time to come rescue me. Or maybe that knight is named Zytrec. I forgot what his name really was- it doesn’t really matter, as long as it’s a knight on a bicycle. (Guess who has been reading short fantasy stories?)

My other fascination these days has been with one-item-only diets (most of them having something to do with Lent). One involves eating only potatoes, which is pretty doable. The other involves drinking only beer (and eating nothing else). As with all good diets, water is allowed. Both of these diets have a historical basis, so reputedly people have done them before and survived without any ill effects. I’m not sure I could do these diets, but it’s interesting to read.

My love affair with the iPad continues unabated, unfortunately (I think). I can see the 52 books list not growing any longer, so I’ve resorted to rearranging my beside table with a pile of books, and it’s nice to see my bookshelves a little leaner. Part of the problem is that the e-books often include samples, and when you are done with the sample, even at 3 am, you can click “buy the book” and continue reading. And don’t even get me started with magazines- the interactive features are so awesome. There’s not only included videos, but also 360-degrees paranomas, and activities (this month’s Oprah includes a poetry-writing module. I had to get this issue because Mary Oliver is featured in it.) Then there’s the games. So far I’ve played Jenga (yes, there is a 3-D version), air hockey (nuts) and multipong (even nuttier). Last night, I downloaded a knitting pattern from Ravelry and used GoodReader to mark and note my place in the chart. So damned convenient.

It’s a very good thing that there is only one iPad between Mr. Yum and… me, and that we have to share because otherwise I would not get anything done…like writing this. ๐Ÿ™‚

Til next time,
Internet-and-tech-obsessed Fairy Princess Eunice

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [14/52] 8 April 2011

  1. carolyn says:

    Dear Eunice,
    you’re adorable.
    Sincerely,
    A reader

  2. Lee says:

    I got an iPod for my birthday but haven’t explored as much as it sounds like you have. I love flipboard. Where do you buy books and magazines from?

    • ejchang says:

      I buy books from itunes (ibook), amazon (kindle) and google bookstore (google books, but prefer to download .epub files and read in bluefire reader. the latter is also good if your library offers e-books). You could also buy a few books from amazon and go to Lendle to borrow other books.

      As for magazines, there are some direct apps (Oprah, Martha Stewart Living, Everyday food, Gourmet (not a magazine but Gourmet Live is made for the ipad), Better Homes and Gardens) but you can also use Zinio app which offers a lot of magazines- National Geographic Traveler is a favorite. They have subscriptions to just about every magazine, including foreign ones, which makes it a little too convenient!

      Hope that helps!

  3. Lee says:

    Thanks for the tips!! I can’t wait to take it to NYC with me.

Leave a Reply

