[16/52] 3 May 2011

Jack
(scene from bike month kickoff ride)

Dear Reader,

Sorry there wasn’t a letter last week (or this week). I had so many unwelcome visitors the past two weeks, and they left behind a big pile of repercussions. They were, in succession, a very bad and nauseating migraine, a throat virus (awful, because I was convinced I was slowly being strangled), and finally, sinusitis (the allergies had to have their say). I’m slowly recovering and catching up…

So where were we? Ah yes, there was Easter, but it was pretty low-key. We planted tomatoes and made plans for the garden and I tried to think up ways to use our lettuce (we have a LOT of lettuce- if you are in the Durham area and want some, let us know!). It is officially summer as it’s been tres humid, so I’ve been changing drawers for summer clothes and thanks to a winter clothing purge, I acquired a pair of seersucker pants and a nice linen shirt, as well as new shoes (Danskos volley red canvas). Yay for new “old” clothes!

I finally finished George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, and I’m beginning to understand why people are *angry* at him for not publishing the next book sooner. The last book, A Feast for Crows, was published 6 years ago. I would have been fine with that. except the book omitted a lot of major characters in the series. It’s like a Harry Potter volume without mentioning Severus Snape or Dumbledore or the Weasleys. And to be fair, Mr. Martin has mentioned he has those chapters for the main characters- he just hasn’t decided if the parts he’s written will go into the book or not. So I hope A Dance with Dragons will come out on time, and it’s rumored to be the longest book in the series so far, and will cover all the main characters. In the meantime, I am amusing myself by reading Leigh Butler’s smart and funny commentaries of the first book in the series.

Oh, and it is most definitely smell-the-flowers month here. Two weeks ago, it was our mock orange. Last week, it was the peonies and roses. This week, it’s all about the honeysuckle. No wonder May is such a good month for biking…

And some fun links, because it’s Friday.
inside artists’ notebooks (I especially love Irina Vinnik)

Every Tree Tells A Story Exhibit (I wish I could go see it, but you can see it online- go to each tree and click ‘more photos’ under artist/exhibit).

-This beautiful video (I’ve been told that the sound is quite good, too). (via Chookooloonks)

-Great speech about writing.

Have a great weekend!

Til next week,
Eunice

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

