[18/52] 28 May 2011

May 27, 2011

Dear Reader,

Hello there! Sorry this post is late; I had good intentions about posting yesterday except I got sidetracked by the flooding (not in our neighborhood, thankfully, though we did get a crazy amount of rain) and waiting to see if a friend would show up at the airport. Sadly, her flight was cancelled, but we should be picking her up in a couple of minutes.

Sidetracked may be the best word to describe my last two weeks. I’ve been busy, a good sort of busy. I blame it on the marvelous weather we’ve had lately- the kind where it’s pleasantly warm and just a tiny bit hot during the day and absolutely wonderful and cool during the night. The flowers release their fragrances at the right time, and bike riding at night is pure delight. There was this one night where we just stayed in all day, then emerged to a pleasant evening where we chased down food trucks and had some amazing meals (salted butter caramel ice cream, anyone?) and re-discovered our downtown (flaming hula hoops? where are we again?). I call it the “worth playing hooky” kind of weather. It may have made cleaning after exploding toilets (due to street work) almost worthwhile.

But we know that this kind of weather wouldn’t last, and sooner or later, the infamous NC humidity and heat would rear its ugly head. It’s one reason why gardeners are obsessed with weather- it really helps to know when it’s going to be really hot or really cold. I collected bags and bags of spinach, kale, and endive, pulled up the carrots (mmm), and planted winter squash. That was good foresight on my part, because this week was all about the high 90s. Going outside was a challenge, and I had to keep reminding myself that it gets hotter than that. Still, I may have been very glad when I realized I could spend time indoors with puppies instead of walking dogs outside. Summer is definitely here.

I’m also realizing that I haven’t read anything consistently in a while. I’m re-starting The World Without Us, by Alan Weisman, and I’m looking at my bookshelves rather anxiously. I hadn’t anticipated liking and using e-readers more and more. In fact, it’s been so convenient that I’ve thought about giving up going to my library altogether. Maybe I should try to read 2 books on my shelves for every ebook I read. Wish me luck.

The weekend is calling, so I’m going to go. I’m looking forward to seeing friends and generally just chilling out. Hope yours is nice!

Til then,
Eunice

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

