November 4: TGIF

November 4, 2011
Sometimes you just have to go for the Friday specials.

Dear Reader,

Today’s prompt: When you are writing, do you prefer to use a pen or a computer?

Hmm. I like both, especially now that I have several kick-ass fountain pens that make me fall in love with my handwriting. I find that when I write by hand, I am more contemplative and my mind pre-organize thoughts and my hand is trying to keep up with it. When I type, my mind doesn’t organize as much and sometimes it feels like my hands have too much free will (and do all the thinking and typos).

In an ideal world, I’d write by pen and edit by computer. In reality, I resort to a computer because I am very bad at slowing down and just enjoying the experience of writing- I always feel like there is something I need to do or get done and sometimes typing on a computer is the only way I get any writing done at all.

***

So today? It was a rainy day, which meant a small headache. Ow. So I mostly read, and I’m way behind in updating my reading list.

I read and finished Why We Get Fat by Gary Taubes, actually, and it was an interesting read. I’m not going to argue or advocate anything- the book is already controversial just by itself. I started reading it because weight gain is something I am concerned about when getting older, and while I’ve almost always ate healthy (or what I thought was healthy), it never hurts to get some information. The only issue I had with the book was that Taubes is very, very argumentative, sometimes to the point of pontificating, that I found it hard to keep track of the “story.”

The other thing I’m currently reading is The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan. The title says it all, and oh boy, it’s a long book, but it’s very entertaining so far and this is a very introspective werewolf, when he’s not drinking too much scotch. 🙂 The last fiction I read before that was Wildwood, by Colin Meloy and it was an excellent fall read (although I have to warn you, it is VERY Portland.) – it reads a bit like a fairy tale.

Okay, talk to ya tomorrow!
Eunice

This entry was posted in life, nablopomo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 4: TGIF

  1. carolyn says:

    I wanted to read that Last Werewolf book but I keep reading reviews of people who hated it or can’t get through it. SO YAY I’m glad to hear you like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

