November 7:

November 7, 2011
birdies in a row. cue in some foreshadowing music.

Dear Reader,

Forgive me for being late. As a bonus, you get two posts today! I arrived home late last night tired and had to catch up with emails.

Today’s prompt: Making family time is important to me. How do you balance your children, relationship, and work life?

You just make time. It’s as simple as that. It also helps to have a family who’s understanding about your time and your stresses and your schedule.

I used to get very stressed about this before I realized that stressing about family time was not really helping me spend time with family or managing that stress. So I just make the time, especially if there isn’t a big huge conflict (or emergency). For my partner, we have a date night (and sometimes another one on the weekends) where we try very hard not to ignore each other (phones are hard to put down!) or be distracted. Which reminds me, Tuesday’s a date night and it always involves tofu burritos and an episode of Castle (and maybe Grimm). Mmmmm.

This is kind of funny, because today was all about family! My partner and I showed up at his parents’ to celebrate his mom’s 60th birthday. We went to Colonial Williamsburg, because we used to go all the time during Thanksgiving and didn’t go for almost two years (it felt weird). And because it was a Monday, we got to go to all the shops without crowds and look around and enjoy ourselves.

We also went to the outlets to buy new clothes for the birthday girl, and I got to fulfill my dream of being a personal shopper for a few hours. 🙂 I’m much better at picking out clothes for other people but not for myself (not always, and boy am I picky). I also got some much-needed long sleeves to replace my hole-y ones.

The drive home was kind of interesting. We took the Jamestown-Surry ferry to cross the river (so we wouldn’t have to go along the length of the long river to get home!) and I got some quite beautiful sunset photos. However, the drive back to the main interstate was, well, spooooooky. If you want to know how spooky, think Sleepy Hollow spooky. At one point, my partner and I stared at each other and said, “If you see a headless horseman with a pumpkin where his head out to be, RUN!” There were mists and deer and lots of empty fields and very bright moon and I was very glad I don’t watch horror movies.

There may have been a sigh of relief when we did reach the interstate.

Later,
Eunice

P.S. You can find more photos of our trip here.

This entry was posted in life, nablopomo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 7:

  1. carolyn says:

    cool photo, girlie

Leave a Reply

