November 8:

*This post is late because of a migraine. Here you go anyway!

November 8, 2011

Dear Reader,

Okay, this is getting spooky. Now the writing prompts are getting a little eerie- they’re echoing my day.
Today’s prompt:
Has anything traumatic ever happened to you? Describe the scenes surrounding a particular event.

One-
When I went to vote, I tried to show my driver’s ID because my name is difficult to pronounce. Apparently, they have to ask you what your name and address is, and NOT ask for ID at all, because asking for ID means you are automatically discriminating against minorities/illegal immigrants/etc.

This makes folks who work there VERY cautious about not asking for IDs- and I could not figure out why on earth couldn’t they just read my ID card- it was just easier- and I was offering it. And I don’t see a need to tell folks that I have a problem communicating- just as no one ever tells me they’re a blond b*tch- it just didn’t occur to me that it would be a problem. And honestly, just reading the ID would have solved a lot of problems- yes, indeed I am that person you see on the card, and here is my name and address in full, and not everyone likes to talk to everyone.

I just don’t like how my right to vote turns into a 10- minute dose of humiliation and anger that could have been easily preventable if election workers weren’t so afraid of breaking the law (I don’t even know if it’s a law) or being sued or whatever. But not being able to vote on issues that matter to me make me angrier, so I put up with it.

Two:
I went to the bank today to deposit checks, and I got informed twice, okay, three times- two times by mouth, third time in writing, that the money would not be available until 8 days later. I was okay with it, except I’ve been depositing checks at this bank for a little more than a year, in a fairly consistent and boring pattern, and the deposits have been made available in 2-3 days. I’m not sure why they had to place a hold on it now- it’s not like my balance decreased, or had overdrafts (none) or anything. The only thing I can think of, based on a little googling, is that this bank is hypervigiliant about fraud. Now, I don’t want to believe and don’t always believe everything the internet tells me, but this is apparently the most common cause/excuse banks use when they place checks on hold.

I get that a lot of economically disadvantaged and potentially fraudulent folks use the bank- but seriously, I am pissed off. Most banks have records that are longer than a time machine, and have software that will tell them patterns over time, and mine states that I am a very good and regular bank customer. This, combined with the article about banks taking advantage of customers, makes me very depressed about using banks. I am not ready to move to a credit union just yet, but I am seriously considering it just not to have a lot of b*sh*t dealt on me.

This was more rant-y and not really that traumatic, all things considered, but that was a major portion of my day. At least there are solutions. For #1- I’m going to vote with a friend or two, so in case this kind of thing happens again, at least there is someone I can go to who will explain that I am not trying to get election officials sued for looking at an ID card. For #2- there appears to be a fairly awesome credit union that is heavily invested and responsible in my town, and I do not think there will be a problem moving my funds there and at the same time, helping with revitalization/progress.

Anyway. I’m getting a real migraine (not just pressure), so I’m off to bed.

Til tomorrow,
Eunice

This entry was posted in life, nablopomo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

