November 18: march of the pumpkins and things I learned about yeast

November 18, 2011

Dear reader,

I think it’s fair to say that the next few days will be about nothing but thanksgiving preparations. I’ve made:
1- honey roasted peanut butter (so good. so local!)
2- hot pepper vinegar for collards.
3- cut up pumpkins (3) and roasted them (75% done. I need to roast the rest).
4- test a yeast roll recipe, which turned out fairly well:

Yeast Rolls

Yeast and I have had a mixed history. I thought I had killed the yeast or that the yeast was already inactive when I bought it. So I was resigning myself to baking biscuits and went to lunch, vowing to clean up later.

Lo and behold, the yeast mixture that I thought was dead was quite frothy and foamy and bubbly. It practically sizzled when I added salt. And it rose, which was important.

So the moral of the story is, yeast likes its privacy, and it’s one of those things that come with the saying “if you don’t like it, wait ten minutes.”

Who knew?

More adventures tomorrow,
Eunice

This entry was posted in life, nablopomo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

