[2/52] January 13, 2012

Januar 11, 2012

Dear Reader,

Oooh, friday the 13th. Hopefully that means my sinus-infection-filled week is over. Let’s not talk about the gory details. Let’s just say that neither my brain nor my body are really working properly at the moment, so I had to do things that were not very taxing, but still entertaining.

Like watching Buffy Season 7 again. Man, I love Buffy. Spike is the perfect tragic, yet flawed, hero. I could go on and on, but let’s just say, nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition. Also, watching girls kick ass is very good when you’re trying to keep your spirits up. You know what else was good? Re-reading Graceling by Kristin Cashore, about this girl who also kicks ass (but for a living). Are you sensing a theme here?

I think I’m going to move on Karen Russell’s Swamplandia, which is about a girl who wrestles alligators (yup, sticking to the theme). The book I’m currently reading, Tamar Adler’s An Everlasting Meal, has been put on hold until I get much better- having a loss of appetite and not really at 100% kitchen strength is not really helping. Also, it would be nice not to cough on everything I’m making.)

One good thing, though. I discovered the wonderful world of facial steams. They are really wonderful for sinuses, even better than neti pot (especially if your sinuses are clogged). All you have to do is to boil a saucepan of water, pour it in a bowl, add a few essential oils (eucalyptus is recommended, but I’ve also used peppermint, rosemary, and/or tea tree oil), wait a few minutes to cool, then breathe in with a towel over your head. Easy as that. Also, it conserves water so you don’t have to run a faux shower to get all that steam. So soothing and easy to do and I feel so much better afterwards.

Hopefully next week I’ll be better…til then,

-E.

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [2/52] January 13, 2012

  1. marthasnail says:

    feel better! i’m really into facial steams right now as well. pretty photo, e.

  2. carolyn says:

    hope you’re feeling better, girlie!

Leave a Reply

