[9/52] March 16, 2012

March 16, 2012

Dear Reader,

Uhm, has it really been two weeks? Oops. Time to get the party started!

First, please join me in wishing Wade V. a happy birthday.

Second, two weekends ago, Logan and Kate visited. We drank many, many bottles of beers and hugged many, many puppies (though not both at the same time). We also went to see The Artist in a mostly empty local theatre, which made me very happy to live in a small town, and yes, you should go see it while you still can in theaters. If you think a silent movie is going to be too quiet, you’d be wrong. It’s not just music for fillers- there’s lots of sound effects. Also, there’s a very talented dog in there that completely stole the show and should be the real Oscar winner. It was nice for once to be able to have everyone on an equal footing, sound-wise, in a movie theatre.

Third, I hate daylight time savings. Things have went VERY wrong from the time an hour disappeared. I don’t see why it has to happen- it’s bright here in the dark already. Also, I started to take my allergy medicine the same night spring-forward happened. As a result, I am tired all the time, which annoys me because nothing I do seems to help (getting enough sleep, working out, etc.).

On top of that, I started planting spring crops that weekend and I don’t think they are going to work out. I should have planted tomatoes because the last few days have been in upper 80s. I kid you not. I don’t think we’ve had a winter at all – and if we did it vanished in a blink. It’s been more of a cold spring. Some of the flowers here are doing fine- they bloom according to day length, but some that depend on temperatures are very, very confused.

I know I’m supposed to like spring and all, but I don’t see what is there to celebrate when it’s already summer. Or maybe I need another nap.

Fourth, I read some books. Big surprise. The new thing is I finally read some engaging nonfiction. Jan-Philipp Sendker’s The Art of Hearing Heartbeats is essentially a very sweet love story, but I didn’t find it as fantastical as Snow Child. The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg is an engaging read, if a bit simplistic (for example, trying to explain everything in terms of habits). You can read a sample of his work here– the part where Target predicts which women are pregnant is incredibly cool and creepy at the same time.

Fifth, I hope next week is much better.

Later,
E.

P.S. Are you curious about how fast you read? Here’s a reading test (warning: it’s most likely for ereaders). Apparently I read 502 words a minute (nuts).

P.P.S. If you are missing snow, well, here you go. Good use of exercise!

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

